Skip to Content

Landmark News

Spring 2018 Commencement

Group shot of 2018 graduating class outside the Click Center

Among the 59 graduates who received degrees at Landmark College’s Spring Commencement Ceremony on May 19 were the first two recipients of LC’s Bachelor of Science in Computer Science.

Dennis Champagne and Michael Otten made LC history as the first BS-CS graduates. Eleven graduates received a Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies and one who received a B.A. in Studio Art. Associate of Arts degrees in Liberal Studies were conferred upon 40 graduates; three received an A.S. in Computer Science; one each received an A.A. in Business Studies; and one an A.S. in Life Sciences.

Long-standing tradition at Landmark College allows all graduates the opportunity to say a few words of appreciation during commencement. Among those who did was graduate Maximilian Petersen, who, as he held his Associate of Science in Computer Science, noted, “I really didn’t feel the weight of today until I picked this up just now.”

Micah Sherman-Raz, who earned an Associate of Arts in Liberal Studies and was awarded the Charles Drake Award by President Peter Eden, advised his fellow graduates, “Life has no remote. Get up and change it yourself.”

You can watch the entire ceremony here:  



The Community Service Award is given to the student who has unselfishly given of themselves to the activities of the Landmark College community. WINNER: Emily Drnec.







The Academic Dean's Award is given to the student who has best demonstrated the qualities that define academic success at Landmark College. These qualities include hard work, seriousness toward learning, intellectual development, and measurable achievement, such as grades. WINNER, bachelor’s degree level: Patrick Blake (left). WINNER, associate degree level: William Mauch (right). 






Charles Drake Award winners Jamal Jackson and Micah Sherman-Raz The Charles Drake Award is given to a student who has inspired the community by his or her personal qualities. This student is not a quitter and who lives in the tradition of Dr. Charles Drake, whose lifetime of vision and courage helped found the College. This student gives 100 percent, goes the extra mile, and perseveres in pursuit of his or her goals. This student helps the rest of us realize that we have more resources to draw upon than we think, and helps us keep going when we feel discouraged. WINNERS: Jamal Jackson (left) and Micah Sherman-Raz (right).





President's Award winner Erica Loveland The President’s Award is given to the student who has best exemplified the principles we believe in here at Landmark College. The student is talented and energetic, meets difficulties head-on, works hard, and is dedicated to his or her studies. This student also finds time to contribute to the well-being of other persons and to the life of the Landmark College community as a whole. WINNER: Erica Loveland.





Presentation of Class Gift 

Students present President Eden with Class Gift, a check in the amount of $1,970.18.

The Class of 2018 raised $1,970.18 to present to President Eden as a Class Gift. And parents of this year’s graduating class provided the first-ever Parent Class Gift, totaling $23,000. (A matching challenge of $9,000 was provided, with a goal of reaching an $18,000 class gift.)







Spring 2018 Graduates 

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science Capstone Project 
Dennis Champagne Back Talk
Michael Otten Back Talk


Michel Otten (left) and Dennis Champagne (right)
Bachelor of Arts in Studio Art Capstone Project 
Matthew Ward How I am of Thee 
Matthew Ward 
Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies Capstone Project 
Anthony Agueldo Cyber Security in Academia
Patrick BlakeºΩ Coming Out in College
Brian Clarkeº Happiness/Sadness in Foreign Film
Anna Dalgleish Anxiety in a Dystopian Future
Joshua Eisen♦ Social Media and Memory
Emily GonzalesΩ Therapeutic Riding for Disability Remediation
Daniel Hodgetts Bi-Polar, Extreme Sports, and Risk
Lawrence Humphreys Deaf Culture/Deaf Accommodations
Jamal Jackson Law Enforcement Training and ASD
Alicia KeatingºΩ¤ Residence Assistant Training
Dylan MorrisΩ Economic Analysis of York County, Maine


Associate of Science in Life Sciences
Kenzie Gelbart 


Associate of Science in Computer Science
Robert Jones*
James Dallmann
Maximillian Petersen


Associate of Arts in Business Studies
Wyman Jackson


Associate of Arts in Liberal Studies      
Anja Alden*∞Ω Fatemah Al-Shuwaired Emily Bartlett Christopher Beaulieu*
Matthew Bronico∞ Stephanie Charbonneau*µ Hannah Chase Ellen Chornoboy
Erin Crosby*¤ Maxwell Day Matthew Dooman Joshua Dowling
Tristan Dunning Jiana Eisenberg Emily Drnec Brian Farkas
Elizabeth Ferraina Drew Glucksman Clare Hidalgo John Holland*
Alexei Hreczuck Glenn Hua Darius Kerravala Amber LaFlamme♦
Jacob Levenson Erica Loveland* Ben Malina*∞♦ William Mauch*
Donald McAllister Ethan Meeder Ethan Messinger* Danielle Newman*
Bradford Newton Sean Noonan* Jenna Pavucek Ryan Ramakrishnan
Isabella Scott Micah Sherman-Raz Lily Wilkinson Gabrielle Willamsµ

 Symbol Key

°Golden Key Honor Society
* Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society
⧫ Communication
Ω Psychology
µ Humanities
€ Environmental Science
¤ Education
∞ Natural Science

Back to top