Share This

Student Achievement Celebrated at Landmark College

Posted: May 13 2014

Contact: Mark DiPietro 802.387.1632 Email Mark DiPietro

Awards announced for academics, leadership, and athletics

Wilson Program/Jeroo Eduljee Award: Patrick McKenna & David Gardner (left to right). Presented by Norma Willingham. Social Science/Education: Michaela Hearst. Presented by Jim Cabral. Natural Science: Steven Schmid. Presented by Kim Coleman. Mathematics: Brian Clarke; Pat Jaquith Award: Katherine Wright; Computer Science: Sean Halnon (left to right). Presented by Anita Long. Humanities: Steven Vitt. Presented by Dan Miller. Sophie Dennis holds up a photo of Rob Gunther-Mohr. Gunther-Mohr was a longtime Landmark College professor. An academic award has been named in his memory. Rob Gunther-Mohr Award: Jackson Martin. Presented by Sophie Dennis. Fine & Performing Arts: Ezra Kopf. Presented by Samuel Rowlett. English Achievement: Gillian Robinson. Presented by Meg Baronian. Communications: Nicolas Shallcross; Dianne Wood Award: Zachary Labbadia. Presented by Mac Gander, Liza Burns, and Ellen Wood. Business Studies: Carolyn Parlin-Bartsch. Presented by Roxanne Hamilton.

Congratulations to all the recipients of the 2014 Academic Awards, Student Leadership Awards, and Sports Awards.

Academic Awards

On a cool April afternoon, students, faculty, and staff gathered to honor the academic distinction of 16 hard-working students at Landmark College. The Academic Awards Ceremony was held in the Strauch Family Student Center Café Court on April 29, 2014. Opening remarks by Dr. Adrienne Major, academic dean, emphasized what diverse disciplines have in common—they all guide and inspire inquiry. Major quoted Hannah Jarvis, a lead character from Tom Stoppard’s play Arcadia: “It’s the wanting to know that makes us matter.”

Wanting to know—or curiosity—was the trait mentioned most frequently among faculty who presented awards to students. High grades set these students apart, but greater attention was paid to the character traits that distinguished them. The students were described as inquisitive, passionate, dignified, determined, resilient, and willing to take risks—all of which led to their success.

2014 Academic Department Awards

Social Science/Education: Michaela Hearst

Natural Science: Steven Schmid

Mathematics: Brian Clarke

Computer Science: Sean Halnon

Humanities: Steven Vitt (pictured)

First Year: Clayton Davidson

Fine & Performing Arts: Ezra Kopf

English Achievement: Gillian Robinson

English Excellence: Gerald Flattmann

Communications: Nicolas Shallcross

Business Studies: Carolyn Parlin-Bartsch


2014 Awards in Honor of Landmark College Founders

Wilson Program/Jeroo Eduljee Award: David Gardner and Patrick McKenna

Pat Jaquith Award: Katherine Wright

Diane Wood Award: Zachary Labbadia

Rob Gunther-Mohr Award: Jackson Martin

More photos from the Academic Awards ceremony can be found below.

Student Leadership Awards

Twenty-four students were honored with a Student Leadership Award in a ceremony on April 30 in the packed dining hall. Students are nominated by peers, faculty, and staff for acts that go beyond the immediate responsibilities of going to class, doing homework, and living in a residence hall. Each year students are recognized for big deeds—like organizing an event—and equally important but less flashy contributions such as making newly-arrived peers feel welcome in campus life. Amidst smiles and applause, recipients of the Student Leadership Award were thanked for making a difference on campus in 2013-14.








2014 Student Leadership Award Recipients

David Allievi

Rebecca Ames

Jessica Brockway

Rachel Brown

Fay Carroll

Forest Ferguson

Justin Frankl

Michael Iemolo

Johnathan Ehritz

Alicia Keating

Patrick McKenna

Matthew Meyer

Zach Meyer

Malcolm Migel

Forrest Mock

Omoefe Ogbeide

Chrissie Osgood

Milan Patel

Gillian Robinson

Ben Somin

Chris Stanley

James Stockwell

Kyle Vanderweil

Keenen Wright


Sports Awards

The Sports Award Banquet on Friday, May 9, was an enjoyable end to a great year in sports at Landmark College. Congratulations to the award winners listed below--and hats off to all our 2013-14 athletes.

More photos from Sports Award Banquet can be found on the Landmark College Athletics Facebook page. Be sure to "like" the page while you're there if you'd like to see more Sharks news and photos in your news feed.

2014 Sports Award Recipients

Female Athlete of the Year: Meghan Cassidy
Male Athlete of the Year: Patrick McKenna

(Patrick and Meghan are pictured at right.)

George Noble Award: Katie Dole

MVP: Patrick Leber & Kevin Goerne
Most Improved Player: Brandon Davis
Coaches Award: Tom Hoberg

Women's Basketball
MVP: Meghan Cassidy
Most Improved Player: Ellisa Davis
Coaches Award: Anna Sohl

Men's Basketball
MVP: Forest Ferguson
Most Improved Player: Thomas Silva
Coaches Award: Marques Marion

MVP: Katie Dole & Meghan Cassidy
Most Improved Player: Rebecca Carlson
Coaches Award: Maya Johnson

MVP: Joe Kreta
Most Improved: Jonathan Williams
Coaches Awards: Will Meinen

Landmark College was the first institution of higher learning to pioneer college-level studies for students with dyslexia. Now offering two and four-year degree options, a graduate level certificate in universal design with technology integration, and summer programs for students who learn differently, Landmark College is a global leader in integrated teaching methods for students with dyslexia and other learning disabilities, ADHD, and ASD. Students, faculty, and professionals from all over the world are drawn to Landmark College for its innovative educational model—designed through research and practice to help all students who learn differently become confident, self-empowered, and independently successful learners.